Armed, wheelchair-bound homeowner thwarts burglary in west Athens | Online Athens

image

A wheelchair-bound U.S. Army vet wielded a pistol to run off a man who broke into his home in western Athens-Clarke County Wednesday afternoon.Mark Sikes, 53, was in bed at his home on Luke Road shortly after 1 p.m. when someone kicked in his front door.

“When I heard that door get kicked in, I reached into my night stand and grabbed my pistol,” Sikes said in an interview Thursday.

“I pointed the gun at him and told him he better get the hell out, and he flew out like a bat,” Sikes said. “He’s lucky I didn’t kill him.”Sikes said he didn’t notice that the burglar had a weapon, but was prepared to shoot.

http://onlineathens.com/local-news/2013-01-24/armed-wheelchair-bound-homeowner-thwarts-burglary-west-athens

