Aretha Franklin confesses to laughing at Beyoncé lip-synching controversy | Music | guardian.co.uk

image

Aretha Franklin has said that she “cracked up” laughing at reports that Beyoncé lip-synched through The Star Spangled-Banner at president Obama’s inauguration ceremony.

The 70-year-old singer performed My Country, ‘Tis of Thee at Obama’s first inauguration ceremony in Washington DC four years ago.Franklin told ABC News she still thinks Beyoncé “did a beautiful job” at Monday’s event but added: “When I heard the news this evening that she was pre-recorded I really laughed. I thought it was funny because the weather down there was about 46 or 44 degrees and for most singers that is just not good singing weather.”

In fact, temperatures were as low as 40 degrees.”When I heard that I just really cracked up,” Franklin added. “I thought it was really funny, but she did a beautiful job with the pre-record … next time I’ll probably do the same.”

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2013/jan/23/aretha-franklin-beyonce

